Vegan April 2024

A quick check-in today on how the last couple of lunalutions went, and how things are going now.

February was successfully less sedentary. I’ve been keeping regular appearances at the gym for strength training, plus cardio a couple of times a week. Is it the “ideal” workout schedule? Perhaps not. But I am happy that it’s been sustained throughout the semester.

March was learn-to-crochet month. I’d been searching for a while for a hobby that is: entertaining, not too hard, doesn’t require much setup or cleanup, and that can be broken up into small chunks of time. Crochet has been a great fit so far. I’ve just about finished working through Sigoni Macaroni’s 14 Day Learn to Crochet masterclass on YouTube, which I would recommend for the person who likes to feel grounded in the basics vs. the person who wants to learn by jumping straight into a project. The masterclass includes patterns for two projects– a washcloth, which I completed, and a scarf, which I am about to start. It’s been nice to just take it slow and have a clear sequence of steps to work through. I’m curious to see if/where it goes from here.

Baby’s first crochet project! A cotton washcloth

And now we have made it to Vegan April. Most of my meal prep has been vegan of late (at least for weekday lunches and dinners), so it’s not a huge change in that way. But then again, past experience has already shown me that the challenge with vegan April is in the spaces between meal prep– the weekends, the snacks, the travel– and the this first week is already lining up with that. For instance, I forgot to think about whether the protein bars and chocolate that I keep stashed in my office for snacks are vegan (they are not). It’s always a good challenge though, and if I find good options and easy swaps, I often keep them around (e.g. non-dairy milk, vegan mayo). I try to make vegan April a chance to explore some fun food options that I might not ordinarily try, like a more elaborate or particularly interest recipe, baked goods, or some vegan restaurants. I welcome any tips or recommendations! 🙂

Lastly, I’ve been reading for fun way more than I usually do during the semester. I am continuing to delight in V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic universe (onto book 2 of that original trilogy). I also read The Vaster Wilds recently, which was… a really interesting read. I would say mostly in a good way, though perhaps not for everyone. It felt like something you would read in a high school English class, and I enjoyed it, and I think it made me feel better about the prospect of death? An interesting read for sure!

And, in the spirit of surplus/80%, I think that’s all for now.

Leave a comment